James Jarvis/Nike: Onwards

onwards2

onwards1

Why run? James Jarvis, in partnership with Nike, creates Onwards, a quirky little exploration into the minds of rabid joggers. Soundtrack is Caribou‘s Crayon, whose music I am gleefully checking out now..

I don’t know if I’ll ever reach the point where I would spring out of bed raring to burn my thighs and calves and drench my tee in sweat in the oft-unforgiveable Singapore weather, but I think Onwards might be a funky little accompaniment to Murakami’s What I Talk about When I Talk About Running.

As Jarvis writes in his blog about the production of the film, throwing a neat little reference to our fair-weather island: “The film was inspired by certain personal experiences in running – a favourite run over Blanchland moor in Northumberland, being attacked by a crow in Singapore – and also by the transcendent, almost psychedelic experience of the simple act of running.”

Leave a comment

Filed under books, music, singapore, videos

Leave a Reply

